Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with OpenID

In this Discussion

Powered by Vanilla. Made with Bootstrap.
Theme built by
Tiny Houses in Cold Winters
  • GreenTeacherGreenTeacher
    Hi there,

I am new to the site and began my interest in the tiny house after I watched the documentary. I am a student, soon to be a teacher and I have a lot of student debt. I want to be able to move out after my graduation but I don't want to accumulate anymore debt. My concern is about the winters where I live in Canada, on the prairies. Our winters can get down to -35 C without windchill... up to -50C with the wind. I'm wondering how well a tiny house on wheels or a small cottage type tiny house would hold up. I was also wondering if the compostable toilet isn't a good idea in such cold climates as maybe the "plumbing" would let in cold air? I would really appreciate anyone's helpful advice on the matter.
  • jmortstarjmortstar
    This link details the construction of a tiny house suited for cold Canadian winters.

He did a really incredible job. Some of the things he did to cope with -40C temperatures included framing with 2x6 for extra insulation, custom building a wood stove for heating, cooking and water heating and including a blower to pass hot air from the stove over the pipes under the trailer when the temperatures were low. 
    Thank you for the link, I'm still confused at what kind of heating I should use that will heat the house and the water that would be easiest for me to put in.
  • RhondaRhonda